Why I’m Here

Hello there.

IMG_4600 That’s me in the picture, my name is Elena. Nice to meet you electronically.

I thought I’d open up by introducing myself a little bit and explaining the purpose of this blog.

I’m at a pretty fluid time in my life. I’m not sure where I’ll be or what I’ll be doing over the next two years as I prod away at the little corners of myself I haven’t yet discovered, and as a person with a normally highly structured modus operandi, this is a prospect that both invigorates and frankly terrifies me.

I love science, and I love writing. And I am driven by the desire to do something that contributes to the betterment of the world. To that end, I’m considering being a researcher or a science writer/communicator. My next step is obtaining a PhD, and in the hopes that I’ll figure out what I want to do in the five or six years it takes me to achieve this goal, I’m leaving the “career” part up in the air right now. When I grow up, all I want is to be able to say that I had fun doing it.

This blog is the place where I will figure myself out. I’m going to write about science, life, the world. I will write in different styles and about different things. I will experiment, strive for accuracy, and write honestly.

My only real goal is to write well and write some things worth reading, and occasionally worth publishing. If you’re looking for polished or censored writing, listicles, or any statement Donald Trump would agree with, look elsewhere. Otherwise, thanks for visiting and hope to see you again!

Leave a Reply

